top of page

Arturo Rodriguez is a Chicano flutist, composer, recording artist, and flute teacher based in the San Francisco Bay Area. He was born and raised in San Francisco where music and folk art were a part of his upbringing. Arturo always had a keen sense of desire for music. In elementary school he participated in a strings program as well as learning how to play the congas.


Arturo would continue to study music while performing with a variety of musical ensembles including the Oakland Youth Orchestra (now Oakland Youth Symphony Orchestra) under the direction of the late Michael Morgan and Bryan Nies. He also performed with the Young Person's Symphony Orchestra directed by David Ramadanoff, Gay and Lesbian Freedom Band of San Francisco, Bay Area Rainbow Symphony, and many other orchestral ensembles throughout the Bay Area and beyond.

He graduated from the Conservatory of Music at the University of the Pacific. Rodriguez has performed in a wide variety of concert halls such as The Fillmore, Oakland's landmark Paramount Theatre, and the Sydney Opera House. He has studied with Gail Edwards, Maria Tamburrino, Mathew Krejci, and has participated in masterclasses led by Jennifer Olson, Viviana Guzman, Monica Anthony, Ray Furuta, and Valerie Coleman.


Arturo currently performs as a soloist and section flute player in a variety of ensembles throughout the bay which include community and pit orchestras. He currently serves as an Ambassador for the Awesöme Orchestra Collective where his talents were included in various "Undercover Presents" events and albums, including Tribute to Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and Green Day’s Dookie. He has also performed with artists such as The Dear Hunter, Diana Gameros, and Palette-Swap Ninja.

Aside from being an accomplished musician, Arturo is a composer of orchestral and chamber literature. He studied music composition at the City College of San Francisco under the guidance of Rebeca Mauleon. His current composition projects include his much anticipated Requiem Sinfonica: a requiem without words. It is a 9-movement symphonic requiem dedicated to the victims of 2016's Ghost Ship Fire. A full premiere of this work will be on the 6th Anniversary in December 2022.

His other works include Metamorphosis Suite for solo C flute, piccolo, and alto flute, a revised First Symphony entitled "The Great", Second Symphony inspired by Sibelius' orchestral tone poem the Oceanides, Divertimento for Chamber Orchestra, various chamber works for wind quartet/quintet, as well as works for flute duo including his Sonatina for Two Flutes. He has also premiered an arrangement of a movement from Mouquet's La flûte de Pan for two flutes and harp. In early 2021, he premiered his arrangement of Onikho's Brave One as part of the Music in Place series on YouTube.

Gold Texture


Financial Director
Web elements (3).png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud
  • Digital-Patreon-Logo_Black
bottom of page